The second MESEC workshop - just like the first one - will take place between August 27th and September 3rd, 2022 at Campomoro, Corsica.

We invite consciousness researchers who are interested in an interdisciplinary exchange of ideas to join us—be it pre-doctoral students, doctoral researchers, or the postdocs. All backgrounds are warmly welcome, as long as you love endless discussions about consciousness.

The MESEC workshop consists of two main types of activities: freeform discussions, and structured talks and debates. Structured events include:

  • Keynote talks
  • Lightning talks, where workshop participants present their research and interests
  • Symposia, where participants discuss a specific topic of interest suggested by the group
  • A formal debate, where two groups present their arguments for or against some of the most heated questions in consciousness science in structured and moderated form
  • Small group sessions, where participants have an opportunity to take a deep dive into specific discussions in a more personal subgroup setting
  • Campomoro, Corsica

  • From August 27th to September 3rd 2022

  • 450€ - Participation fees includes all expenses on site: food, beverage, housing, and transporation from and to the cities of Ajaccio, Figari or Propriano.

  • Application deadline : July 5th 2022


Ulysse Klatzmann

Université Paris Cité/ University of Oxford

Karla Matić

Max Planck School of Cognition / Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Rony Hirschhorn

Tel-Aviv University

Camilo Miguel Signorelli

University of Liège/University of Oxford

Hadrien Titeux

École Normale Supérieure

Scientific Chair

Athena Demertzi

Tenured researcher (FNRS Research Associate) at the University of Liege

Confirmed Speakers

John-Dylan Haynes

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Humboldt University Berlin

Lucia Melloni

Max Planck Institute for Empirical Aesthetics

Thomas Andrillon

ICM Institute for Brain and Spinal Cord


Niel Bezrookove

Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy

Diego Candia-Rivera

University of Pisa

Lucie Cauwet

Université de Genève

Robert Chis-Ciure

International Center for Neuroscience and Ethics

Larry D.Fort

University of Liège

Sebastian Dohnany

King's College London

Abhilash Dwarakanath


Anna Eiserbeck

Humboldt University

Adelina-Mihaela Halchin

Cardiff University

Arion Iffland-Stettner

ETH Zurich

Christoffer Lundbak Olesen

Aarhus University

Ben Macintosh

Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy

Mario Martínez Saito

HSE University

Charlotte Maschke

McGill University

Peter Thestrup Waade

Aarhus University

Zefan Zheng

Max Planck Institute for Empirical Aesthetics

Our Twitter Page